The Ultimate Driving Mixtape*


I’m pretty sure there’s something wrong with my mental state. I’m off in the head.

For the past month and a half, my girlfriend has been in the hospital and I’ve managed to visit her three or four times a week. This is a bit of an inconvenience as she’s about an hour drive away**.

So last week I took a vacation day… to drive two hours in the other direction and take an introduction to solar energy systems and design class in the southern part of the state. It wasn’t until I was cruising back on the highway that I realized this isn’t something most people do. In fact, most people would probably say I’m in desperate need of a psychiatrist.

And after I finish installing these solar panels and save on my electric bill I’ll make an appointment.

The insane part is that I actually enjoy the drive. Southern Ohio/Northern West Virginia is filled with beautiful scenery. It was a gorgeous day, and I got to enjoy it in my own way.

The best part is that my new*^ car has one of those newfangled ‘radio’ contraptions so I was able to listen to music the whole way. When I needed a break from the Creedence CD I brought along I was able to scan through the stations and usually land on something descent that made time pass a little quicker.

This got me thinking “what would be on the ultimate driving playlist?” And because one of my hobbies is blogging I had to turn it into something.

Granted, most of this is low hanging fruit, but give me a break; I’ve been doing a lot of driving lately.


Tom Cochran “Life is a Highway”

The Rolling Stones “Gimme Shelter”

The Carpenters “Superstar”

 

Beastie Boys “No Sleep Till Brooklyn”

AC/DC “Highway to Hell”

Elton John “Tiny Dancer”

 

 

Meat Loaf “Bat Out Of Hell”

Heart “Barracuda”

 

Jimi Hendrix “All Along The Watchtower”

Red Hot Chili Peppers “Soul 2 Squeeze”

Queen “Bohemian Rhapsody”

 

So I know all of your typing fingers are burning up right now to tell me which I missed. And that’s great! I purposely left enough space on this virtual disc for a little feedback. That’s what comments are for.

Have at ‘er!


 

* I’m sure someone has already done this post in a different way, but now it’s my turn!

**But she’s totally worth it.

*^Actually, it’s a year older than my previous vehicle, but the owner took much better care of it so it’s like a new car.

 

23 thoughts on “The Ultimate Driving Mixtape*

  1. Reporting back after a think. After all of this AC/DC listening I’ve been doing, all I can think of is a fave AC/DC tracks mix! Haha.

    But on deeper reflection, I think it depends on a few things: mood – do you want happy and upbeat, or calm and soothing? Angry road rage stuff or instrumental jazz? So many options, each a different mix. Also, time of day: are you driving in the morning? All day? Just at night? And where are you driving? Through a cityscape? Wide open country highways? Mountains? Again, I feel like different styles would suit each.

    I remember driving from Hinton into Jasper, AB listening to White Stripes and the Hives. That was pretty damn awesome. I also associate OK Computer with the time we took the train from Montreal to Toronto, and as we were were pulling out of Montreal, the industrial-like train station at the base of all those tall buildings, the city rolling by, that album suited it perfectly.

    Like that!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ll make sure to put White Stripes, the Hives and OK Computer on the list.
      You bring up a lot of good points. I plan on testing this mix out on a trip from Ohio to Myrtle Beach, SC in August. That’s mostly appalachian mountains. A lot of the other points is impossible to tell, we’ll have to see how it goes.
      Maybe I’ll do another post after I get back.

      Like

  2. Sorry to hear your girlfriend is still in hospital, Zack – sending good vibes and hope she’s out of there soon.

    As for a driving mixtape, none of my current mixes are complete without the following:

    Richard Buckner – Believer
    My Jerusalem- Shatter Together
    Imperial Teen – Yoo Hoo
    The Afghan Whigs – Arabian heights
    Iggy Pop – Sunday
    Queens of the Stone Age – My God Is The Sun

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You can’t go wrong with just about anything by a band who made a song called “Hell Bent for Leather”. And yes, just about any Motörhead song makes a good driving song (the fast, rumbling rhythm characteristic of thrash metal and speed metal work well for driving).

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Go With The Flow – Queens Of The Stone Age
    Sabotage – Beastie Boys
    Paranoid – Black Sabbath
    Crucial Velocity – Clutch
    No Way Back – Foo Fighters
    Stylo – Gorillaz
    Paradise City – Guns N Roses
    Immigrant Song – Led Zeppelin
    All Revved Up And Nowhere To Go – Meat Loaf
    Bomber – Motorhead
    Among others! Great list though man, lotta classics. Best wishes to your girlfriend!
    Milo.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The scene from the Almost Famous clip was rumoured to be about Gregg Allman (RIP), when Cameron Crowe tagged along on the Allman Brothers Band tour. Allman was suspicious of Crowe and thought he might have been an undercover cop.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’d never heard that before. It sucks how hostile the public has gotten with the media, but I suppose there’s always going to be some conflict with certain situations.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Gregg was heavy into drugs and alcohol after his brother Duane and Berry Oakley died.
        He was quite paranoid, and strung out. Crowe was an outsider so he drew the suspicions.
        To me the public has at least some reason to be hostile with the media today.
        Sensationilism is what sells papers and tv news.
        There used to be human nature stories about people helping people.
        Now it’s about if one of the Kardashians had a bob job.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m sorry to hear she’s still in the hospital – hope she continues to recover as swiftly as possible.
    Nice to see some CanCon in there with Tom Cochrane, fine choice with Soul to Squeeze as well, my favourite RHCP track

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was thinking I had a few canucks on there, but I may have dropped a few. You guys must have plenty of good driving tracks. Cohen had 3 songs on the soundtrack to the greatest road trip movie ever: Natural Born Killers.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. How is “Radar Love” by Golden Earring NOT on here? The bass groove, the drums, and the lyrics make for a perfect driving/truckin’ song!

    Since you have an not-so-rock song in “Superstar” on your list, I’d also like to suggest “East Bound and Down” by Jerry Reed (the theme song from “Smokey and the Bandit”).

    Other songs with great grooves for driving:
    “Smokin'” (Boston)

    “Livin’ After Midnight” (Judas Priest)

    “You’ve Got Another Thing Comin'” (Judas Priest)

    “Flirtin’ with Disaster” (Molly Hatchet)

    “Train Train” (Blackfoot)

    “Jessica” (Allman Brothers Band) – hey…it’s even the theme song for BBC’s “Top Gear”!

    ” The Chain” (Fleetwood Mac) – the bass solo towards the end has been used as a theme song for British coverage of Formula 1 for years.

    “Copperhead Road” (Steve Earle) – that bass drum pounding against the strains of Steve’s mandolin, and the power chords that bridge some of the verses together evoke the image of a moonshiner flooring his souped-up car to get away from the lawmen.

    I’m a big listener of classic rock, but all of those songs have great rhythms and grooves that will work well for driving.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wanted to put “any Motorhead song” on there, but I could easily do “any Judas Priest song” too.
      I was thinking “Don’t Stop ” would be the Fleetwood Mac song if I had to choose.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I would add some highway/road theme songs.
    Heading out to the Highway and/or Freewheel Burnin – Judas Priest
    Highway Star – Deep Purple
    I Speed at Night – Dio
    Pedal To The Metal – Kazzer
    Drugged and Driving – Dayglo Abortions
    Fuel and/or Motorbreath- Metallica
    Scooby Snacks – Fun Lovin’ Criminals
    Darlington County – Bruce Springsteen
    Born To Be Wild – Steppenwolf
    I can’t drive 55 – Sammy Hagar
    Miss Lava – Ride
    Let The Good Times Roll – The Cars
    Slick Black Cadillac – Quiet Riot
    Jerry Was A Race Car Driver – Primus
    Road Racin – Riot
    Lovedrive – Scoroions
    Red Barchetta – Rush
    Under My Wheels – Alice Cooper
    502 – Megadeth
    Jesus Built My Hotrod – Ministry
    Trainwreck 1979 – Death From Above 1979
    Slow Ride – Foghat
    Little Deuce Coupe – Beach Boys

    California Crossing – Fu Manchu.
    (The song and/or the entire album)

    Liked by 2 people

    • A few I forgot

      Drive My Car – The Beatles
      Mr. Cab Driver – Lenny Kravitz

      I’m Bad, I’m Nationwide -ZZ Top

      The last is real cool. Plus the lyrics.
      “Easin’ down the highway in a new Cadillac.
      I had a fine fox in front, I had three more in the back.
      They sportin’ short dresses, wearin’ spike heel shoes.
      They smokin’ Lucky Strikes and wearin’ nylons too.
      ‘Cause we bad, we Nationwide.
      Yeah we bad, we Nationwide.”

      Liked by 1 person

    • Haven’t heard a lot of these, but I’d say: “Slow Ride” is a definite must-play; and it’s a pretty safe bet that if a song was featured in “Easy Rider”, it’s probably appropriate for a driving playlist (in addition to “Born to be Wild”, I’d also include “The Pusher”, “Don’t Bogart Me”, and “The Weight”). And finally, I’ll also suggest “Goin’ Up the Country” by Canned Heat.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

