The Best of 2016


Ahhh, it is finally time for my favorite blogging activity of the year: the “best of” list. I’ve come across a few already filled with death metal and/or indie rock that I have never heard, but I hope this list will have a little something for everyone. Then again, I didn’t see anything from my Amazon wishlist the last time I went to FYE so I’m pretty sure I’m out of touch with the times.

Bloody Hammers Lovely Sort of Death – This album popped up on my radar courtesy of Mr. 1537 and managed to beat out Al Jourgenson’s Surgical Meth Machine and Green Day’s Revolution Radio for the low spot on this list. I’m sure those artists will be pretty upset about that.

 

The Descendents  Hypercaffium Spazzium – This was a pretty good record, but it felt a little too of the moment. This album definitely sounds like it was made in 2016 and you can hear a lot of modern influence. For my money, I’d recommend Cool to be You.

Otep Generation Doom I got a little grief for enjoying this one, but I’m a sucker for militant, butch lesbians with anger problems.

Helmet Dead to the World – I managed to catch these guys live twice this year, which is unheard of for me at the ripe old age of 33. But they managed to impress both times (even with their singer being at the ripe old age of 56).

 

David Bowie Blackstar I would have loved to have listened to this one more, but I stayed away from it because of recent problems with depression. Hopefully next year I’ll get to spend a little more time with it.

 

Garbage Strange Little Birds

 

Weezer – The White Album After several lackluster albums Weezer have somehow managed to redeem themselves with the awesome Everything Will Be Alright In The End and now this one.

 

Rachel Bloom – My new favorite Jewess. Is that a racist term?

Local H Hey Killer (2015) This is one I picked up after reading a best of list for last year and it’s remained in constant rotation. This is my favorite track off the album. I was more disappointed that they didn’t play this when I saw them open for Helmet than I was by the omission of “Bound for the Floor.”

 

Leonard Cohen You Want it Darker – I’m not going to lie, when I listened to Popular Problems in 2014 I wasn’t thrilled. I’m not sure why, but something about it didn’t resonate with me. That’s definitely not the case with this album. This would still be in the top spot even if he hadn’t died this year. But it’s as great a swan song as anyone can imagine.

 

15 thoughts on “The Best of 2016

  1. Cheers for the mention Zack and I’m really pleased you liked the Hammers. I still can’t decide if they’re in on the joke yet, or whether they are genuinely that serious!

    A good thought-provoking list too.

    Happy new year to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice call on the Weezer bounceback!
    Really enjoyed the white album too – I have a theory that they’re “rewinding history,” meaning that they hit an extreme low point with albums #7 & 8 and are now working their way (in reverse) back to early weezer quality.
    So the White album lines up with Make Believe, the next will mirror Maladroit, and then Green, Pinkerton, Blue comparables from there – hopefully I’m right!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice list, Zack. Few in there that I’ve never heard and a couple I need to spend a bit more time getting to know in the new year (Cohen and Bowie, in particular). You’re also the third person who has said very good things about the Weezer album, so I might be tempted to check it out.

    Hope 2017 is a good ‘un. All the best to you, fella.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s great to at least have some diversity in my online community. I think you’re the only Jewish person I know.
      I’m hoping to get more into Blackstar soon. I heard the title track on Spotify today. It’s definitely worth a few listens.

      Liked by 1 person

      • It got a little heavy for me today. I ended up switching to Ziggy Stardust for a few songs. But absolutely worth a few listens.

        I’ve met a lot of cool people blogging and you are the third person online to let me know they don’t know any other Jews. I desperately hope I represent well 🙂 What’s really interesting is that you only live an hour away!

        Have an awesome new year.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

