Damn the Years!


bargain_binI’m not the only person who tends to browse through CD bargain bins at gas stations and dollar stores, right? Even if I go in for a 12 pack of pop and a few rolls of toilet paper I still usually end up in front of a rack of CDs for the low, low price of $6 a piece.

It’s kind of a silly thing to do when you think about it. It’s not like I’m going to find some lost gem lurking among Joe Walsh’s But Seriously, Folks… or the Best of Linda Ronstadt. It’s just something I’ve always done. I don’t think I’ve ever bought anything from any of them aside from maybe a Bob Marley cassette. That was years and years ago. You can tell from the fact that I bought a Bob Marley cassette.

But a few months ago I was in a Dollar General and I noticed something really strange. Sure, there was still Fleetwood Mac, Black Sabbath Vol. 4 and numerous unofficial greatest hits releases, but there was also Soundgarden’s Badmotorfinger, Nine Inch Nails’ Pretty Hate Machine and Stone Temple Pilots’ Tiny Music… 

That just didn’t make sense to me. These bins are for the music of old people. Poison, BTO and Neil Diamond. Young people music doesn’t belong in these bins. When did they change that rule? Wait… did they change that rule? I’ve been denying this for years as I heard Nirvana and Weezer in Walmart and Pearl Jam started playing on the muzak at the gas station, but I think I listen to old people music now.

Soon they’ll start calling it classic rock and I’ll have to start browsing a different section at the record store. Damn. You live long enough and just more and more bad stuff starts happening.

I always hoped I’d die before I got old…

5 thoughts on “Damn the Years!

  1. I KNOW! I’m an old fogey too, now. And I’d be standing right beside you, digging through the bin!

    One thing that also bugs me: our local Wally World used to have a bin where all the $5 CDs were stood on end, spines up, so you could scan through quickly. Now they’re all just dumped into a bin like your post’s top pic. That drives me nuts. How do the expect to sell anything? I get that people’s laziness messes up the way it used to be, but that dump bin drives me bananas.

    Anyway, back to ageing. I ranted about hearing Nirvana in Walmart in 2007, so I think it’s been creeping up on us for a while…

    https://keepsmealive.wordpress.com/2007/06/12/wal-mart-oh-nevermind/

    And man, f I saw all those great 90s CDs in a bin, I’d be snapping up what I needed post-haste!

    Great post. Now, what were we talking about? Who are you? Nurse! NURSE! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • I bet they scatter them around in the bins so you have to spend more time in the store and it increases the chance you’ll buy something.
      And I’ve heard ‘Smells like Teen Spirit’ at Walmart. I definitely know what you’re saying there. It makes me even more scared to visit that store!

      Like

      • Man, from the parking lot on in, the whole thing is a shit-show. Sometimes I go there just to people watch. I look in their carts to see what they’re buying, I eavesdrop on their mindblowing conversations…

        And I bitch every time about the CD bin. If the object is to make me waste time digging, I’ll lodge a formal complaint!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

