Axl Versus The Internet


Axl Trump

Axl Trump

On May 29th I got an email from WordPress notifying me of a  DMCA take down notice. It appears someone had a problem with a photo I used on my site and complained of me using their copyrighted material without permission.

OK, I get that. I often google words or phrases and find a picture that fits what I want to say and post it. I figure most of the stuff that shows up high on a google search is done by people who aren’t extremely worried about copyright infringement or has been shared so many times it’s nearly impossible to decipher who is the real owner. (I do ask photographers at concerts I attend to use their photos. Most people are happy for the exposure.)

So I figure’d I’d just stepped on some local photographers toes and was genuinely sorry, but then I read further down the letter which informed me that the company making the complaint was Web Sheriff of London and the copyright holder was…

Axl Gaga

Axl Gaga

Wait for it…

Axl Rose.

That’s right. You’ve seen the picture. Axl is wearing a red bandanna and sporting a Fu Manchu. His bottom lip is pulled back over his teeth and he looks ridiculous. I used it in my What’s Wrong With Axl Rose? post. I read on Billboard a week later that Axl’s goal is to wipe this image from the internet completely.

Seems like another screw just came loose from Axlbot 2016.

Axl Rose (and most performers) do retain rights to professionally taken photos of themselves so there is a legal precedent for this (even if the newspaper who took the photo disagrees with the decision and it is a total dick move), but remember that time Axl was arrested in St. Louis for inciting a riot? I bet he doesn’t own the rights to those pictures.

Axl Simmons

Axl Simmons

So fuck you Axl.

Oh, and by the way, I haven’t copyrighted any of these images. Feel free to use them, share them and spread them around like a bad case of crabs. If we all work hard enough, hopefully they’ll make it back to Axl.

 

 

 

 

Nobody likes me...

Nobody likes me…

31 thoughts on “Axl Versus The Internet

  1. Sweet Eight Pound Baby Jesus. I really hate my softball team photo from 9th grade, should I go knock on doors and ask people to fork over their yearbook so I can scribble it out?

    Love Axel Simmons, by the way.

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

