You’re Too Young To Remember Them


There are things I hate to hear. “You have to work this weekend,” is one of them. “Is it in yet?” is another.

But the thing I hate to hear more than anything else is “You’re too young to remember that band.”

Sure, I was born in 1983 so I never had the chance of listening to John Lennon, John Bonham, Jim Morrison, Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, Robert Johnson or a plethora of other musicians with ‘J’ names while they were still alive; but we still have recording technology.

No, I'm not going to play Slayer. Stop yelling that.

No, I’m not going to play Slayer. Stop yelling that.

Every time someone says “You’re too young to know that band,” I want to explain to them how a CD works. But I don’t really know how a CD works… something about a laser and don’t get scratches on the silver side. But there were still cassette tapes before them. And reel to reels, vinyl records, 8 tracks and Dictaphones.

As of this writing the oldest person in the world was born in 1898. That’s 21 years after Thomas Edison patented the Phonograph Cylinder. So ever that 116 year old Japanese woman can’t look down on the second oldest person and say “You’re too young to remember that.”

I’m sure there are some artists who never got to record, but thanks to technology I can enjoy music from Gene Ammons (1925-1974), Django Reinhardt (1910-1953) and even Eve 6 (1995-2004, 2007- Present)

So don’t tell me I’m to young to have heard Led Zeppelin or Dr. Hook you old drunk!

Leave a Reply

