Wednesday 13 @ The Agora


Wednesday 13 Flyer Agora 201523 January 2015

The Agora Ballroom. Cleveland OH

Reverend Morbid, Dr. Dreadful, The Witch is Dead, Die So Fluid, Eyes Set To Kill, Wednesday 13

I was wholeheartedly expecting the Agora to be nicer than Peabody’s. I haven’t been there since Ministry’s C-U-La Tour in 2008, but I had fond memories of the place and remember is being a nice, clean and well-kept venue.

But then I flooded a urinal within my first two minutes. I guess someplace had to fill the void left by Peabody’s.

Luckily the music was better than the plumbing. I really dug the first band. They reminded me of Motorhead, but cleaner (that isn’t saying much, I’ve seen dog turds cleaner than Motorhead) and with horror punk lyrics. they had some awesome riffage and ever managed to play through an awful microphone malfunction that would have felled lesser bands.

Dr. Dreadful 2015/1/23

Dr. Dreadful

My only trouble with them came when I found out their name is Reverend Morbid. Don’t get me wrong; that’s a bad name or anything. But I imagine them looking at Dr. Dreadful and saying “Shit.” It made me wonder if the next band would be called Captain Corpse, Bishop Bloodyface or Governor Gruesome. with one band it comes of pretty cool, but when you see two bands with the same type of name something’s off.

I enjoyed Dr. Dreadful‘s female-fronted, Misfit’s-style punk again. I believe the first time I saw them was the last Wednesday 13 show I attended, but I’ve seen them a few times in the interim. It’s nice watching a band grow and change. I’ve been itching to hear some new music from them, but the changes in guitar tone managed to keep me entertained… for now.

Die So Fluid 2015/01/23Die So Fluid is an interesting band from England. They had a lot of the elements of progressive rock like spacey guitars, unconventional song structures and odd time signatures, but there was none of the virtuoso shredding of most prog metal bands. I can’t say I minded that though, I’ve never been a fan of John Petrucci so I found them quite interesting.

Eyes Set To Kill 2015/01/23I read a short piece in Revolver magazine at the Eyes Set To Kill merch booth that both impressed and disenchanted me. I was impressed that they were covered in Revolver, but article referred to them as Screamo, which let me to expect guttural growls and nasal, whiny singing. Still, I was interested enough to check them out and pleasantly surprised. Their songs are filled with great riffs and soaring vocal melodies. It put me more in mind of Kittie than… what’s a popular Screamo band? Sure there’s the gimmick of two sisters playing in a band together and wearing skimpy outfits, but they have some great harmonies and serious chops. I was impressed enough to buy their new album.

I was a little disappointed that after seeing him twice before and buying the EP Spook & Destroy I didn’t recognize more of Wednesday 13‘s set. It definitely wasn’t the same set I saw a year and a half ago. The band has added a keyboardist and the set was heavier. It’s not like they were ever a bubblegum pop band, but there was a lot more aggression, speed and drop-tuned bar chords. And a little less singing along.

Wenesday 13 2015/01/23

Still, it was a helluva good time.

 

2 thoughts on “Wednesday 13 @ The Agora

  1. Pingback: Eyes Set To Kill “Masks” | The Audible Stew

  2. Pingback: New Music | The Audible Stew

Leave a Reply

