The Best of 2014


The best thing about the end of the year is all the “best of” lists that help you catch up on the great music you missed in the past twelve months. My favorites so far are the ones from Loudwire.com here and here. As these are my favorite thing about New Years, I though I would try one myself.

Best of 2014:

11) Marilyn Manson “Deep Six” While I don’t expect The Pale Emperor to be 2015s album of the year, I was pleasantly surprised by this track. It’s actually pretty good. Which is more than I can say for most of what Marilyn Manson does these days.

 

10) Bastard Friendly Lost in Translation Hahaha. Just kidding. This band sucks.

 

9) BABYMETAL

 

8) Alice in Chains “Phantom Limb” The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here came out last year, but I only saw this video a few weeks ago. Just like all the other videos from that album, it’s pretty amazing.

 

7) Faith No More “Motherfucker”

 

6) Kyng “Electric Halo” This is one that slid under my radar until I got to the “best of 2014” lists. Now I can’t get it out of my head.

 

5) Pearl Jam Lightning Bolt (2013) Pearl Jam deserve a big pat on the back for doing something they haven’t done in 20 years and releasing an album worth listening to. Way to go guys! I knew you had it in you!

 

4) Killer Be Killed

 

3) The Last Internationale Usually when I hear about a drummer’s side project I think… well, I don’t really give it any thought. But when that drummer is Brad Wilk from Rage Against The Machine and Audioslave I figure it’s worth a listen. This band doesn’t disappoint.

 

2) The Pretty Reckless Going to Hell

 

1) Monster Magnet “The Duke” A few sites have called this the best video of the year. And I’m inclined to agree with them.

5 thoughts on “The Best of 2014

  1. Pingback: Marilyn Manson “The Pale Emperor” | The Audible Stew

  2. Pingback: Thank You 2014 | The Audible Stew

    • I have a feeling it’ll be Album of the Year… no wait. That’s an awful pun.
      It’ll be Epic… no, still not right.
      It should be an enjoyable listening experience.

      Like

      • Awful puns? Who Cares (a lot)? I’ll feel like King for a Day when it comes out! Unless it sucks. Then I’ll be Fool for a Lifetime. One thing for sure: It will be the Real Thing!

        Like

Leave a Reply

