So You Wanna Start A Band 6


imagesI’ve learned enough playing in bands over the years to have some wisdom to pass on. I notice a lot of awful things bands pass off as normal behavior and hope I can make the world a better place by helping to prevent this. I don’t profess to know everything about ‘how to make it in the music biz.’ If I did I would be writing this from a tour bus and not my apartment. If you disagree with my views I encourage you to share your own. This tutorial is intended to help people catch up with where I’m at or surpass me. If you have another way of doing things which will bring more success I’d love to hear it.

PART 6: LEARN TO PLAY AN INSTRUMENT

I apologize for getting into ethics, looks and the right reasons for wanting to play in a band before focusing on what’s really important.

The first thing you have to do If you want to play in a band is learn to play an instrument.

Buy a cheap guitar, bass, keyboard, kazoo, recorder or triangle. And LEARN TO PLAY IT! Even if your goal is to be a lead singer it will help you to understand music theory and help you with composition.

Don’t just buy expensive equipment and hope for the best. You can suck just as well on a First Act as a Gibson Les Paul; and trust me, you’re going to suck at first. Don’t just learn to program drum machines and copy and paste samples. We already have enough bullshit in the world; don’t perpetuate it by making copies of it.

I’m glad I learned to play an instrument because I can express myself musically. If I have an idea I can sit with my guitar and bring it to fruition. While I see a lot of my friends grasping at straws trying to find the right sounds and melodies with no vision or idea of what the finished product will be.

“Nothing in the world is worth having or worth doing unless it means effort, pain, difficulty”    -Teddy Roosevelt

10616673_10152758003648376_624838255997836657_n

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

More Shitty Advice:

Part 5 – People Love Stupid Costumes

Part 4 – Stop Trying To Look Cool

Part 3 – Get Over It

Part 2 – So You Wanna Join A Band?

Part 1 – The Right Reasons

4 thoughts on “So You Wanna Start A Band 6

  1. Pingback: SYWSAB 10 | The Audible Stew

  2. Pingback: SYWSAB 9 | The Audible Stew

  3. Pingback: SYWSAB 7 | The Audible Stew

  4. Pingback: Thank You 2014 | The Audible Stew

Leave a Reply

