The Next Big Thing?


And now for something completely differentWhile brainstorming for the post “I don’t like rap music because I’m racist” I made a mental list of all the areas of the world with musicians I listen to. I found it to be pretty complete. It includes: Al Jourgenson (Ministry) from Cuba, Max Cavalera (Soulfly, Killer Be Killed) from Brazil, Rodrigo y Gabriella (Mexico), Gojira from France, Rammstein from Germany, In Flames and Ghost from Sweden, Seether from South Africa, Freddy Mercury (Queen) from Tanzania, Rivergate from Algeria and Anarchadia from Syria.

I don’t include any Canadian or British artists here because the culture and music of those countries with my own is so similar that occasionally I don’t know a group/artist is a foreigner until someone tells me.

But still, if you look at my list you’ll notice a big, big (quite huge) gap. Asia. I realized that I don’t listen to any music from Asia. Sure, I enjoy George Harrison’s ditties on the sitar and I loved Mike Myer’s version of “More Than Words” from the Love Guru, but other than that… I don’t listen to Asian music.

I don’t even like the band called Asia.

Then I came across something completely different. Something that will divide my readers right down the middle with some saying ‘This is total garbage!’ and the other have saying ‘This is somewhat garbage!’

That’s right, I’m talking about BABYMETAL!!!!!

What I’ve heard of this band has been overwhelmingly negative. “Cool” people seem to absolutely detest them. And if that wasn’t reason enough to fall in love with them I am actually digging their musice.

The best part about it is that it’s different. That’s always one of the first things I look at with a new band. Do they have their own sound? Do they have their own style? Or are they just a cheap knockoff of Slipknot/Metallica/Slayer/Whatever the kids are into this week? BABYMETAL is different from anything I’ve heard. Sure, I’ve heard slut-pop (they refer to it as J-Pop or Teen Pop) and heavy metal, but why it took so long to mix the two genres is anyone’s guess. It’s one of those things that once it’s done makes you thing ‘Why didn’t I think of that?’

Another cool thing is that I’m sure this group is introducing young people to guitar-based music. I don’t know if you’ve checked out the Billboard Hot 100 lately, but it isn’t exactly brimming over with virtuoso musicians. As a fan of guitar-based music, I’ll take any help I can to conquer the world with guitar music!

BABYMETAL: Not any more ridiculous than Slipknot.

BABYMETAL: Not any more ridiculous than Slipknot.

Let’s only hope that they don’t stop their touring in Japan and that someday Lady Gaga has to open for them.

 

 

One thought on “The Next Big Thing?

  1. Pingback: The Best of 2014 | The Audible Stew

Leave a Reply

