So You Wanna Join A Band?


imagesI’ve decided to start a series of band tips. I figure my band is successful enough and I’ve learned enough that I have some wisdom to pass on. I’ve been doing it for a while and notice a lot of awful things bands pass off as normal behavior so hopefully I can make the world a better place by helping to prevent this.

I, in no way, profess to know everything about ‘how to make it in the music biz.’ If I did I would be writing this from the lounge of a tour bus and not the free couch in my $355/month apartment (Or maybe I would be writing it from this couch between tours). At the moment my band has 271 likes on Facebook, 237 followers on Twitter and 745 fans on Reverbnation. I’m OK with these stats because we do well playing out and people seem to be enjoying our stuff; however, if you disagree with my views I encourage you to share your own. This tutorial is intended to help people catch up with where I’m at (or perhaps surpass me), if you have another way of doing things which will bring more success I’d love to hear it.

Part 2 – How to Not Join A Band

I hadn’t planned on doing this post, but I my bass player quit earlier this week and the first respondence to my open invite on Facebook left too perfect an example to pass up on.

Page One

 

Page Two

Page three

I do have a few questions I didn’t get a chance to ask:

a) Why would you use the single most racist word in the English language if don’t want people to think of you as a racist?

b) Was there supposed to be something in any of those seven comments to make me change my mind about not wanting to be in a band with someone who uses inappropriate language in extremely public places?

c) Have you ever though that the reason “every time some fucking asshole makes you wish you hadnt even offerred” is because you’re the asshole?

Yes, dear reader. I do realize that it’s rather passive-aggressive and assholish of me to post this on my blog without directly confronting this person, but I did have a few reasons for that:

1) I didn’t want to exacerbate the situation. I already tried to diffuse it politely (though looking back I may have come off as a little bit of a prick) and just wanted to get this off the site. I’m just as much a fan of freedom of speech as I am of my freedom not to associate with people I don’t agree with.

2) Arguing with an idiot is like playing chess with a pigeon. He’ll knock over the pieces, shit on the board and strut around like he won.

So let this be a lesson to you all. If you really, really, really, REALLY don’t want to join a band, or get a job, or make a good impression on people the quickest way to do that is the copious use of racial slurs!

801-Blazing-Saddles-quotes

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “So You Wanna Join A Band?

  1. Pingback: SYWSAB 10 | The Audible Stew

  2. Pingback: SYWSAB 7 | The Audible Stew

  3. Pingback: So You Wanna Start A Band 6 | The Audible Stew

  4. Pingback: So You Wanna Start A Band IV | The Audible Stew

  5. Pingback: So You Wanna Start A Band Too? | The Audible Stew

    • I was in a band with him several years ago where he was the guitar player… I wasn’t extremely impressed by his skills.
      But really I don’t think any amount of talent can make up for the extremely inappropriate comments.

      Like

Leave a Reply

