SUP Review – Somewhere in Between


Surprising Uprising PromotionsI’ve recently joined up with Surprising Uprising Promotions to start reviewing music for unsigned and unknown bands. After listening to quite a few groups on their website over the past few weeks, I’ve narrowed the list down to a few that I’d like to share with you.

This is the second installment in my SUP series. Part 1 was: Omnithex

 

Alternative Math-ish is a very strange way to describe a band’s genre. Of course, Somewhere in Between would best be described as a strange band.

I’ve heard Math Metal before. I’ve also heard several types of psychedelic (both hippy rock to heavy industrial metal). I’m also somewhat familiar with prog, alternative, grunge, glam and stoner rock. I do however, find myself a little confused at to how to describe Somewhere in Between. I suppose the best way would be to say that they occupy the cracks between prog and alternative. The vocals are an edgy type of pop that you would expect in the grunge 90’s. the bass rocks fuzzed-out drones in sync with the tight drums. And the guitar… well, the guitar seamlessly segues between fast hammer-on riffs and power chords – then switches to chiming single notes.

Then it all happens again.

Their sound leaves me wanting to compare them to The Mars Volta. Only Somewhere in Between are a little better. I don’t want to say I don’t like the Mars Volta, but SIB keep their “long” songs to about six minutes, which makes them long enough to be interesting and artsy, but not long enough to be completely self indulgent. And the songs are based around good riffs, nice melodies and deep drum instead of walls of effects pedals and processed vocals.

I feel like I was insulting in that last paragraph, but I’m not sure to which band. Hopefully Somewhere in Between don’t take it the wrong way and stray from their well honed prog-alterna-math-ish rock.

See if you like them as much as me:

 

And make sure to like them on facebook

They’re also one of the Top 10 bands on XRP Radio.

10004019_618937378159662_627541094_n

2 thoughts on “SUP Review – Somewhere in Between

  1. Pingback: SUP Review – Vendetta | The Audible Stew

  2. Pingback: SUP Review – Contour | The Audible Stew

Leave a Reply

