Most Overrated Bands


Slayer – Slayer is so overrated that you hear people ask for them at every rock concert you’ve ever gone to or will go to even though they’re not there. I’ve been to 4 Ozzfests, none of which featured Slayer, and every one had some guy holding a Slayer banner yelling “SLAYER!!!”

Juggalos 4 life.

Juggalos 4 life.

Insane Clown Posse – There’s a time and a place for ICP; it’s called junior high school.

Mushroomhead – Just a heads up: If you’re ever in Northeast Ohio don’t mention Mushroomhead. If you do someone you don’t want to talk to will start a conversation with you about their Halloween show or how his or her band opened for them one time or how they were so much better back when they were a local act.

To read what the rest of the world thinks of them read the end of this or this

Tool – Don’t get me wrong, I love Tool. But I’m getting really fucking sick of my bass player doing the intro to “Sober” at EVERY! FUCKING! PRACTICE!

Any of Les Claypool’s Side Projects – All of Mike Patton’s side projects would have made it onto this list except I recently discovered that I enjoy Mr. Bungle.

Kanye West – Didn’t this dude release one song several years ago? Why do I keep hearing about him? What the hell is a ‘Yeezus’?

Psychostick – These guys might be the best band in the world, but I wouldn’t know. Their fans ruin them by constantly talking about how they’re the best band in the world.

Apparently now you're considered a musician to play the mixer.

Apparently now you’re considered a musician to play the mixer.

Dubstep – Whenever I come across someone who says, “I only listen to Dubstep” I always wonder what they listened to 2 years ago.

Miley Cyrus – Sure, she’s a marketing genius and we all hate her because she’s young, beautiful, rich and doesn’t have to wear clothes like the rest of us. But her music is pretty horrible. Good luck watching this without hitting mute:

 

 

Metallica – Personal opinion here – Metallica is not the greatest heavy metal band in the world. Scientific fact here – Metallica is not the heaviest metal band in the world. What Metallica is is the most bastard friendly metal band in the world. That’s why every douche-bag and twat-waffle I work with who wants me to think they’re cool is always going on about how much they love Metallica. Be different for God’s sake!

15 thoughts on “Most Overrated Bands

  1. Pingback: The Most HATED bands | The Audible Stew

  2. Pingback: The Best Ohioan Rockers | The Audible Stew

  3. Uriah Heep released music in 2008?
    Nine Inch Nails is generally considered industrial rock, although they’ve won Grammys for metal and been nominated for hard rock. They released two albums in 2008., which is on your list?
    I like Metallica too. I own some of their stuff, some Mushroomhead and some Slayer. Just because I like a band doesn’t mean I don’t think their overrated.

    Like

  4. The only artist on your list that is represented in my collection is Metallica. I do have their complete collection, and I do like them a lot. However, I also have complete collections of lots of heavy metal. All the way back to Led Zeppelin, Deep Purple, Black Sabbath, bands the helped formulate my youth. On through Judas Priest, Iron Maiden, Saxon, Motley Crue, Poison, Megadeth, Pantera……. Those are just the ones I can think of off the top of my head.

    I listen to my music collection in chronological order. Currently in 2008, listening to Def Leppard (Songs from the Sparkle Lounge). Coming up: Dokken, Judas Priest, Motley Crue, Uriah Heep, Chicago (not HM), Nine Inch Nails (what are they?), and Celtic Thunder (definitely not HM…….lol).

    Like

  5. I’m right there with ya on the Mushroomhead, ICP, Kanye. Add Black Keys to that. Great, they’re from Akron, but I’ve heard so many better bands from Stark County.

    Like

    • I wouldn’t consider the Black Keys overrated. They get a lot of attention because they’re a local band that’s made it big, but they’re not much different than Devo. I’ve never met anyone who was in a Black Keys side project or who was neighbors with the Black Keys or who smoked pot with the Black Keys. I’ve known people who did all this stuff with Mushroomhead. (I have known several people who claim to have kicked Marilyn Manson’s ass in high school and one gentleman who was in Tim Owen’s Judas Priest tribute band).
      I’m wondering about these Stark County bands you say are better than the Black Keys. I’ve seen a lot of Stark County bands (and some of them are very, very good), but I don’t think I’ve come across one better than the Black Keys.

      Like

  6. I have a Slayer t-shirt. And everywhere I go people scream at me “Fucking Slayer!” Even guys in business suits. But I do genuinely like them. It’s just the fans go a little overboard.

    Like

    • It happens. Didn’t mean to rant on Metallica. I actually like Metallica (and most of the bands on this list), but damn do I get sick of hearing about how awesome they are.

      Like

      • You can like a band and still go on a healthy rant about how they are perceived- I do it all the time on my blog. (OK, I admit, most of the bands I rant about, I don’t like),it is what makes music blogs readable and fun to do. 🙂

        Like

  7. “Metallica is is the most bastard friendly metal band in the world.”- that is a righteous rant statement perfectly delivered. This is a great idea and well done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

