Weezer – “Weezer” (The Blue Album)


Weezer-Blue-Album-1994I don’t like to make definitive statements in this blog. This has to do with the fact that my tastes tend to change over time so what I think is great right now I may think is shit later. (Why did I ever like Radiohead)? Also, there is the fact that I’m a blogger and no one really takes me seriously anyway.

That being said, Weezer’s 1994 debut is definitely one of the Top 5 greatest albums of all time. There, I said it

I didn’t like this band when they first came out. Back in high school I was into heavier bands like Pantera, Marilyn Manson and Korn. A band where you could actually understand the lyrics was way too soft for my tastes. Although I always enjoyed “Buddy Holly” because it’s impossible to resist, I didn’t really get into Weezer until after graduation when I saw the “Keep Fishin” video. Yet again, resistance was futile and I could do nothing to stop myself from enjoying this.

I heard more Weezer over the years and the floodgates finally opened last year when I got a copy of the Blue Album. I can’t get enough of it. It’s like Potato chips laced with crack. I can’t smoke just one!

I’m not a huge fan of the opener “My Name is Jonas.” Sure, it’s a nice rocker with a neat acoustic intro and a great singalong outro. But something about it bothers me. Maybe it’s just that I don’t like the name Jonas.  Still, it seems right to begin an album this awesome with a track I don’t love; if it had begun with “Say It Ain’t So” my head may have exploded.

“The World Has Turned” is one of those great love songs that I could almost imagine the Beatles singing. It has great melodies and harmonies. It also has great fuzzed out guitars.

Ooh We Ooh I look just like Rivers Cuomo. Oh Ho and like Harry Potter too.

Ooh We Ooh I look just like Rivers Cuomo. Oh Ho and like Harry Potter too.

I still have sort of a love/hate relationship with “Buddy Holly.” I’m guessing just about any guy with the style of glasses I wear also has this problem.

I’m not sure what I can’t say about “Undone (The Sweater Song)” that hasn’t been said about The Bible. Oh yeah, people don’t hate homosexuals because of The Sweater Song. But it is also the foundation for two major religions and was divinely inspired.

“Say It Ain’t So” is perhaps the greatest song written during the decade. Sure, it didn’t get as much attention as “Smell’s Like Teen Spirit” or “Baby Got Back,” but people have awful taste in music.

And who can forget the nerd rock anthem “In The Garage.” Sure, it’s still not cool to play Dungeons & Dragons, but you don’t have to worry about it in the garage. Finally nerds had a spokesperson.

The other songs are great also. There is no filler on this one. The whole album is bursting with well honed pop songs played on fuzzed out guitars. An album like this could only surface and receive airplay during the ’90’s, but the songs themselves are timeless. Even if I have no idea what most of them are about.

14 thoughts on “Weezer – “Weezer” (The Blue Album)

  1. Pingback: #top15onthe15th | The Audible Stew

  2. Pingback: Thank You 2014 | The Audible Stew

  3. Pingback: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack ‘The Crow’ | The Audible Stew

  4. Pingback: Korn – Korn | The Audible Stew

  5. Pingback: Marilyn Manson – Portrait of an American Family | The Audible Stew

  6. Pingback: The Summer Nationals Tour 2014 | The Audible Stew

  7. Pingback: Hole – Live Through This | The Audible Stew

  8. Pingback: Tribute to The Blue Album | dyingread

  9. Pingback: Another Problem with Pay to Play: The Death of the Local Scene | The Audible Stew

    • It’s definitely more than a Top 10 for me. I haven’t really liked their recent stuff as much. But I’m sure I’ll be checking more of it out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

