Awesome Movie Gigs III


After the first few editions of “Awesome Movie Gigs” bombed I wasn’t going to do a third one. But I found this draft cluttering up my post list and I thought, “What the hell? It’s not like I have any better ideas this week.”

Into The Wild (2007)

Lost in Translation (2003) – Seeing the sexiest woman alive sing a song from a band in Akron in Tokyo makes me proud to be from Ohio. And that’s not a feeling we Ohioan get very often.

Star Wars (1977)

 

The Little Mermaid (1989) – Well it would have been an awesome movie gig if Ariel hadn’t been off chatting with the seagull

Scent of a woman (1992)

It’s Pat (1994)

 

Mr. Holland’s Opus (1995) – I’ve never actually seen this movie. I just assume that there’s an awesome music scene in it.

Mars Attacks (1996) – Boy it was awesome to see Tom Jones singing Lenny Kravitz’s “Are You Gonna Go My Way.” or was that in The Jerky Boys?

The Cable Guy (1996)

10 Things I Hate About You (1999)

 

Southland Tales (2006)

Eddie and the Cruisers (1983)

 

The Wedding Singer (1998)

Beavis and Butthead Do America (1996)

Hedwig and the Angry Inch (2001)

 

 

If you enjoyed this post you may also enjoy More Awesome Movie Gigs and Even More Awesome Movie Gigs

6 thoughts on “Awesome Movie Gigs III

  1. Mr. Holland had OK music scenes. The climax sucked. You’re waiting all the movie to hear Mr. Holland’s opus, finally, and it sucks…it was just some Michael Kamen thing that sounded like everything Michael Kamen’s ever done. Disappointing opus!

    Like

      • I like Richard Dreyfuss so I enjoyed him and the musical stuff, like for example his character was a big Beatles fan, and part of the movie takes place on the day John Lennon is killed.

        Like

        • You know, I’ve never cared for Richard Dreyfuss. I’m not sure what it is about him, but I just never liked him. Not in American Graffiti or Close Encounters. I did like him in What About Bob?, but maybe that’s just because he played a jerk.

          Like

          • HAHAH! Maybe! I guess that we just differ on American Graffiti and Close Encounters but that’s alright. How about Jaws? He was positively great and EVIL as Dick Cheney in “W”.

            Like

            • I forgot about both of those movies, but forgive me. He was a bit out shined by Roy Sheider in Jaws and W was a steaming lump of crap. Of course, Dreyfuss’ performance was a glimmering chunk of corn in that smoking pile.

              Like

Leave a Reply

