The Best Soundtracks


Do you remember back when movie soundtracks were the most awesome thing on the planet? Not only could you get a few rare and/or unreleased songs from bands that you already liked, but it also gave you the opportunity to check out some new bands that you may like. Sadly, it’s been quite a while since I’ve come across any good soundtrack albums. I’m not sure why the industry has gotten away from them or if I just haven’t noticed recent ones. Either way, I thought it would be fun to share a few of my favorites.

You’ll notice that Grease and Saturday Night Fever didn’t make the cut. This is because I don’t care much for disco or John Travolta.

The Beavis and Butthead Experience – It’s more of a compilation than a soundtrack, but it 600full-beavis-&-butthead-experience,-the-coverstill holds a place in my heard because it was my introduction to all the bands on it. And there’s some killer tracks from Nirvana, Megadeth, Aerosmith and White Zombie to name a few. And the immortal “I Got You Babe” from Cher with B & B.

Spawn – Remember those 2 weeks in the late ’90’s when techno was going to be the next big thing after grunge, but then it didn’t happen because of Limp Bizkit? If it wasn’t for this album I wouldn’t either. There’s some great pair ups between awesome metal bands like Filter, Marilyn Manson and Korn with electronic acts like… well, there are some I swear. I just don’t remember them. The Butthole Surfers track on this is one of my favorite songs from them.

Demon Knight – Pantera, Ministry, Megadeth and that Filter song that was on 90 % of the soundtracks ever released.

Queen of the Damned – This album is one of those rarities where a contract SNAFU leads to something magic. It would have been cool to hear those songs sung by Jonathan Davis, but having them sung by Chester Bennington and Wayne Static makes them gold. Not to mention this album helped to turn me on to artists like kidneythieves and Godhead.

downloadRocky Horror Picture Show – You know you love it. I hear you shiver; with antici- (say it!) pation.

Hedwig and the Angry Itch – If you don’t own this go out and buy it. Some of the greatest songs ever to come out of a mockumentary are featured here. Hell, even Meatloaf covered one.

Coyote Ugly – Whoops! How did this get here.

Purple Rain – I’m not ashamed to say I love this album. Think of all the great tunes! “Let’s Go Crazy,” “When Doves Cry,” “I Would Die 4 U,” “Darling Nikki” and “Purple Rain.”Natural_Born_Killers_(soundtrack)_(1994)

Natural Born Killers – Back before Trent Reznor did mediocre soundtracks for David Fincher he did awesome ones for David Lynch and Oliver Stone. This one is great not just for the great songs from Jane’s Addiction, Cowboy Junkies, L7, Leonard Cohen and Nine Inch Nails, but also the dialogue from the film weaving in and out and making for a unique listening experience.

Pulp Fiction – I don’t really hate John Travolta. Or maybe I just like the surf rock, old-timey country and Urge Overkill’s version of “Girl, You’ll Be  A Woman Soon” so much that I don’t notice.

Heavy Metal 2000 – While the original contained some killer tunes from 80’s rockers this is a must have for fans on music from the 00’s. Days of the New, Queens of the Stone Age, Monster Magnet and arguably the best Pantera song ever recorded.

The_Crow_soundtrack_album_coverThe Crow – A mess-up at the BMG offices sent me this and Megadeth’s Youthanasia instead of Blues Traveler when I was a teenager and I haven’t been the same since. This album has some of the greatest stuff I’ve ever heard from The Cure, Nine Inch Nails and Violent Femmes as well as tracks form a few really cool industrial bands I never heard from again. They tried to reclaim the magic on the sequels, but were never able to match it again.

So what’s your favorite soundtrack?

6 thoughts on “The Best Soundtracks

  1. Interesting subject and not one I’ve given a lot of though to! I tend not to listen to soundtracks. I tend to rip the 2 or 3 songs that I wanted and ignore the rest. Having said that, here’s a handful of my favourite soundtracks, no particular order:

    Star Wars, American Graffiti, O Brother Where Art Thou, Pulp Fiction, A Mighty Wind, Wayne’s World!

    Like

    • I’m not sure I’d enjoy the soundtrack to A Mighty Wind. I didn’t even care for the film very much. I may have to check out Star Wars and American Graffiti though.

      Like

      • Good call on The Crow + Demon Knight, forgot about those. Probably the two best soundtrack opening tracks (The Cure’s Burn, Pantera’s Cemetery Gates) from the 90s. I’ll second Mike’s recommendation of O Brother Where Art Thou, irresistibly catchy.

        No shame in enjoying Purple Rain, certainly nothing wrong with listening to Prince/The Artist/The Purple One/the logo once used to indicate ‘Prince’!

        Like

        • I’m not sure why the Purple One has such a bad name and catches so much flak. I hear people singing the praises of Michael Jackson all the time and to me the biggest difference between the two is that Prince uses much more rocking guitars (that he plays himself).
          Oh, and the accusations of child molestation.

          Like

Leave a Reply

