The Greatest Power Duo


I think today it’s time that someone pay homage to the greatest songwriting partnership to ever grace the lands of rock music. No, I’m not talking about Jagger/Richards, Page/Plant, Tyler/Perry, Axl/Slash or Hetfield/Ulrich. I’m not even talking about Lennon/McCartney. And I’m certainly not talking about Simon & Garfunkel, Sonny & Cher, Seals & Croft, Hall & Oates, Rodrigo y Gabriel or The Captain & Tennille.

 

I’m talking about Elton John and Bernie Taupin.

Captain Fantastic & The Brown Dirt Cowboy

Captain Fantastic & The Brown Dirt Cowboy

 

I’m not sure why more credit isn’t given to this astonishing duo who gave us such gems as “Your Song,” “Tiny Dancer” and “Candle in the Wind.” It could be because only one of them was a performer. Taupin wrote the words, handed them to Elton and then his job was done. It could be that they didn’t live the stereotypical rock and roll lifestyles with  excesses of groupies, drugs and televisions thrown out of windows.

 

Or it could be that Elton John sits down to pee.

 

Either way, I hope you’ll join me in celebrating this songwriting team that shines with the brightest and continues to put out music to this day (though not nearly as good as the stuff they did when they were young and hungry in the early seventies).

 

I’d like to share with you my favorite song. Not just in the canon of John/Taupin, but my favorite song EVER! Hope you enjoy…

 

Leave a Reply

