The Knickers’ CD Release Preview


479849_623062941056811_1667950039_n

 

Working afternoon shift sucks. I usually don’t mind it but every now and then a really great show comes up and on a Friday and I can’t go. Such is the case on June 7th at the Outpost in Kent where several bands I’ve enjoyed and covered for this blog will be gathering for what I’m sure will be one of the best shows of the summer.

I’ve never actually heard Oceans of Atrophy, but they’ve been on my radar for quite some time now. I figure the fact that they’ve been around for so long either shows that they’re a) a good band or b) very, very determined. Either way I’m guessing they’re a site to see. Plus they have a pretty cool name and that’s very hard to find in this day and age.

I’m not sure who Chemtrail X are either, but they also have a pretty cool sounding name.

I’m listening to Habit as I write this post to refresh my memory of them. I saw them at Gorilla Music’s Spring Fest and really liked their post-grunge sound. They’re heavy in a mellower sort of way that doesn’t bash you over the head but relies more on melodies and songwriting. It still does the trick.

I nearly fell in love with VENT at the Scio Showcase a few weeks ago. They play some damn good hardcore punk and had me singing along on my first listen. In a time when everyone tries to out-complex each other its nice to hear some basic punk rock with a heavy metal attitude.

I can’t really say anything about Dream the Hero that hasn’t already been said about Fall Out Boy. My dislike of their music is well documented and publicized and chances are if you’ve been reading my blog for more than a month you know about it. I will wish them the best of luck, playing with bands this good they’re gonna need it.

And of course I didn’t forget about The Knickers. I can’t wait to here the new release. I’m sure it’s filled with the panty-dropping thrash metal they play so well. Oddly enough they take a musical style that reached the height of its popularity the decade before they were born and put a modern spin on it. I guess that’s the only way for thrash to sound modern in this day and age. I hope they have luck fighting the girls off; after all they are a bit young. I just can’t wait until they grow up so I can crack more adult jokes about them.

Best of luck to all the bands. I’m sure it will be an awesome show and I’m sorry I’ll have to miss it.

Leave a Reply

